Bean and Flax Pancakes

Since I’ve been taking care of my 6 month old grandson, I’ve had time during nap time to get online and post more recipes – here’s one of my favorites..  let me know what you think!

Bean and Flax Pancakes

3 eggs

¼ cup of heavy cream

1 tsp of vanilla

1 tsp of raw local honey or 4 drops of stevia

¼ cup flax meal

¼ cup bean flour

2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

organic berrie (optional)

Beat eggs, cream, vanilla and sweetener well.  Mix dry ingredients.  Blend dry and wet by mixing together with fork.

Add coconut oil or olive oil to griddle and heat.  Pour batter into pan in small amounts, about 1-2 tablespoons.  It is important to only use a little and spread it out.  Thinner is better (unlike the fluffy pancakes we are used to making – beans and seeds can taste like dry cardboard if fluffed up too much)   You could also add a few organic berries before you flip them.   Cook till bubbles appear (bubbles don’t always appear – check, if they are browned, flip, even without the bubbles) and then flip to cook an additional minute.  When I flip these, I spread them out more to make them thin.

Serve with butter, berries, or %100 PURE maple syrup.

These are also good cold.  I’ve had them the next day with organic cream cheese – it’s almost like having a bagel and cream cheese.

Please don’t do a side by side taste comparison, you will be disappointed – I started making these after I stopped eating all wheat, gluten and grain products for over a year due to insulin and weight issues. Having this option has given me back one of my favorite foods without destroying my health.  It’s truly a perspective thing – keep that in mind.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

